Georgia State Record Freshwater Fishes

Official Rules for Freshwater Fish State Record Program

All game fish, in addition to carp, catfish, bowfin, gar, and yellow perch are eligible for Angler Awards and Freshwater Fish State Records. Both resident and non-resident anglers are eligible. The Wildlife Resources Division reserves the right to refuse any questionable entry.

  • Applications for Freshwater Fish State Records must be submitted within 90 days of the catch. To qualify as a new Freshwater Fish State Record, the fish must weigh at least one ounce more than the existing record. Any catch which matches the weight of an existing record or that exceeds the record by less than an ounce, will be considered a tie. Anglers can view a current list of Freshwater Fish State Records by using the menu on the right side of the screen or by contacting a Wildlife Resources Division, Fisheries Office.
  • Fish must be caught in Georgia during the legal angling season for the species taken in accordance with all fishing laws and regulations. Fish must be caught on sporting tackle and be hooked and landed by the entrant. Bush hooks, trot lines, jugs, baskets, nets, etc., are not considered sporting tackle.
  • For a Freshwater Fish State Record, fish caught from hatcheries or intensive fish culture facilties are not eligible. Freshwater fish caught from private waters in which adults of the species in question are stocked are not eligible.
  • To enter, the angler must submit an application and a clear, sideview photograph of the fish. The fish must be weighed in the presence of two witnesses, both of whom must be at least 18 years old and not a member of the entrant's immediate family. Both witnesses and the owner of the scale, if not a witness, must provide an address and telephone number on the application. Witnesses are not necessary if the fish is weighed on a certified scale at a Wildlife Resources Division office.
  • Fish must be weighed on a scale that has been certified accurate to the nearest ounce, or lesser weight, by the Department of Agriculture within the last year. Fish may be weighed in pounds and ounces or in metric; however, metric weights will be converted to pounds and ounces. Estimated weights will not be accepted. The weight of the sling, platform or rope (if one is used when weighing the fish) must be determined and deducted from the total weight.  Only one ounce graduations will be recognized. Visual fractionizing of graduations is not allowed. Weights that fall between two graduations of the scale must be rounded to the lower of the two.
  • A Wildlife Resources Division, Fisheries Section staff member must idenfity the fish and sign the application. No mounted fish will be accepted. Please call before visiting a Fisheries Office to be sure someone is available to identify the fish.

Anglers whose fish qualify as Freshwater Fish State Records will receive a certificate when the record is official. The names and addresses of individuals who receive Freshwater Fish State Records may be released to the media and other interested parties.

Click here for a printable copy of all current state record fish (contains angler name, date of catch, body of water and weight of fish).

GEORGIA STATE SALTWATER RECORDS






Receive FREE, timely updates on topics of interest. Sign Up Here!

Available Now! Click here to download.

LICENSES - 3 Ways to Buy

1. Phone 1-800-366-2661
2. Online - here
3. Retail License Vendor listing - here


Ranger Hotline: (800) 241-4113

Ranger Hotline

(800)-241-4113

Report poaching and wildlife violations. You can receive a cash reward if your tip leads to an arrest—even if you wish to remain anonymous.
More Info >