Georgia Alligator Harvest Summaries


As part of The Wildlife Resources Division's (WRD) goal to maintain a sustainable alligator population in Georgia, records of the State's alligator harvest, alligator hunter effort, and alligator hunter success are acquired each year and then used to adjust hunting regulations in subsequent years to achieve desired results.

Click here for the full alligator report for 2013 (which includes the two summaries below and much more).
Click here for a summary of alligator harvest from 2003 - 2013.
Click here for a summary of alligator harvest from 2013.

How does the WRD get this information?

Harvest records are obtained by surveying Georgia alligator hunters about their alligator hunting effort during the past season.  Surveys are completed when a successful hunter validates a harvested alligator at one of WRD's Gane Management offices.  

What are the alligator hunting zones for Georgia?

OPEN ZONES: For purpose of managing, hunting and dispersing alligator harvest, the State is divided into 9 zones as follows:

Zone 01 - Calhoun, Chattahoochee, Clay, Early, Marion, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Stewart, Terrell & Webster Counties. (Q=65)

Zone 02 - Baker, Decatur, Grady, Miller, Mitchell & Seminole Counties. (Q=140)

Zone 03 - Crawford, Crisp, Dooly, Dougherty, Houston, Lee, Macon, Peach, Schley, Sumter, Taylor & Worth Counties (Q=60)

Zone 04 - Berrien, Brooks, Colquitt, Cook, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift & Turner Counties (Q=85)

Zone 05 - Ben Hill, Bibb, Bleckley, Coffee, Dodge, Jeff Davis, Laurens, Montgomery, Pulaski, Telfair, Treutlen, Twiggs, Wheeler, Wilcox & Wilkinson Counties (Q=70)

Zone 06 - Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Echols, Pierce & Ware Counties (Q=100)

Zone 07 - Appling, Glynn, Long, McIntosh, Tattnall, Toombs & Wayne Counties (Q=130)

Zone 08 - Bryan, Bulloch, Candler, Chatham (excluding the Bradley River, Cane Patch and Rush Creek areas within the boundaries of Ossabaw Island Natural Heritage Preserve) , Effingham, Evans, and Liberty, Counties (Q=120)

Zone 09 - Burke, Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Richmond, Screven, and Washington (Q=80)

WMAs in the legal zones are open to alligator hunting provided that the WMA has open small game dates that coincide with the open season for alligators unless otherwise specified. Please refer to the WMA listing in the 2009-2010 Georgia Hunting Seasons & Regulations booklet, which will be available in print August 1st and online in mid-July at



Receive FREE, timely updates on topics of interest. Sign Up Here!

Available Now! Click here to download.

LICENSES - 3 Ways to Buy

1. Phone 1-800-366-2661
2. Online - here
3. Retail License Vendor listing - here

Ranger Hotline


Report poaching and wildlife violations. You can receive a cash reward if your tip leads to an arrest—even if you wish to remain anonymous.
More Info >